Genealogists love moms….we just hate their Maiden Names!  Mom’s are VERY important but also can be very elusive.  We spend more time looking for the “Mom’s” then anyone else…SOMETIMES!

I want to take a moment to thank all the mom’s in my family tree…in my direct lines…and indirect lines.  To my mom, my Grandma and Nani, and to the great grandma’s, great great grandma’s, aunts, etc. that are part of me…Happy Mother’s Day.  Some of you I had the pleasure to meet in person, and some of you I have had the pleasure of getting to know thru documents, census’, and vital records.  Your strength, courage, and determination make my family tree stronger than diamonds…and just as valuable.

So…Talking about moms…how do find them?  Maiden names sometimes are the hardest names to track.  How to we track the female ancestors that mean so much to us and our family trees?

Sometimes we get lucky and can find Marriage Records online…sometimes we can’t.  Depending on the family, sometimes the clues to the missing Maiden Names are in the middles names of the children.  Have you ever wondered why some of the children had really strange middle names?  This could be why.  Those strange names could be the maiden name of mom, or grandma.  If you hit a brickwall with mom, see if you can find the middle names of her children.  It might give you a few clues!

A few other places I have found maiden names are in cemetery records, census records (you never know when a mother or father-in law might be living with the family), land records, wills, church records, and old newspapers.  Also check with local libraries….they have a wealth of information available to the public.  If you don’t ask the right questions, you will never get the right answers.

Keep looking for those moms…their maiden names are out there. It just might take a little bit more work to find them!

Happy Mother's Day, Mom! I miss you and love you!

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!
I miss you and love you!

